Awards and Honors

Impacting ASU and the world


  • Richard Burian and Anne McNabb Lecture, Virginia Tech and State University, 2023
  • History of Science Society Joseph H Hazen Award for Embryo Project, 2018
  • Joseph H. Hazen Lecture, New York Academy of Sciences, 2018
  • Martin Benjamin Distinguished Lecture, Michigan State University, 2017
  • David L. Hull Prize, International Society for History, Philosophy, and Social Studies of Biology, 2015
  • AAAS, Featured Member, 2014 
  • Arizona Professor of the Year, CASE and Carnegie Foundation for the Advancement of Teaching, 2010 
  • John Templeton Visiting Lecturer, “Regenerative Medicine in Historical Context,” UCSB, 2007 
  • Fulton Lecturer, History of Medicine Society, Yale University 2004 
  • Independent Publisher’s Book Award, one of 2 finalists for Science Books, 2004 
  • Association for Women in Science Fellow, 2004 Plymouth State University, Honorary D. Sci, 2003 
  • History of Science Society Joseph H. Hazen Education Award, 2000 American Association for the Advancement of Science Fellow, 1996 
  • Sarton Lecturer, AAAS/History of Science Society, 1996 
  • Dibner Visiting Historian of Science Lecturer, History of Science Society, 1994-1995 


  • Faculty Women’s Association, Outstanding Faculty Mentor Award, 2019
  • University Professor, 2015 
  • Last Lecture: “Will Stem Cells Make us Smarter, or Live Longer, or What?,” 2009 
  • 2 President’s Professor, 2007 
  • Gary S. Krahenbuhl Difference-Maker Award, 2006 
  • Distinguished Teaching Academy, Founding Fellow, 2005 
  • ASU “Featured Faculty,” January 2005 Regents’ Professorship, 2002 
  • Honors College Outstanding Mentor Award, 2002 (first recipient) 
  • Alumni Association Faculty Achievement Award, 2001 
  • Parents’ Association Outstanding Professor 2000 (named chair) 
  • Alumni Association Outstanding Teaching Award, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, 1999 
  • Distinguished Faculty Award, College of Liberal Arts and Sciences, 1998 
  • Certificate of Appreciation, Disability Resources for Students, various Golden Key Outstanding Professor Award, 1992 
  • Zebulon Pearce Quality Teaching Award, 1983